Tot’s Simple Lentil Soup

My mother in law makes a lovely lentil vegetable soup that my hubby adores. Being the competitive kind, I decided that I should learn and then best the recipe. I have managed to create my own version which just doesn’t compare to hers but my tot loves it so from now own it’s called Tot’s Simple Lentil Soup.

Hubby and I eat the soup but add quite a lot of salt as this is not included in tot’s version.

I use red lentils which I wash thoroughly, then soak overnight in cold water. If you have a pressure cooker you can miss this step though I find that the soup ends up a bit grainy so still do the soaking.

Also for the swede/carrot – many supermarkets already do chopped up veg which is very handy for putting into soups.

200g red lentils – soaked

250g swede chopped into small dice

250g carrots chopped into small dice

1 kallo low salt vegetable stock cube

1.5 litres boiling water.

  • Drain soak lentils. Discard the water
  • Put lentils in the pan
  • Add the vegetables
  • Dissolve the stock cube in the water.  I only use one cube as I don’t want to overpower the taste of the veg with stock.
  • Pour stock into the pan.
  • If you have a pressure cooker, then cook for about 30 minutes. If you don’t, then bring mixture to the boil and then simmer until the lentils dissolve and the vegetable are tender. Stir often to ensure soup does not stick to pan bottom
  • Blend soup to create a smooth consistency. If your tot is happy to eat veg chunks, you can miss this step
  • I also add 10ml of milk to the soup before serving to make the consistency smoother. And for treats (and calcium), I top it off with grated cheese which melts and makes fun stringy shapes for tot as she feeds herself.

This soup freezes very well. I freeze it in small portions so I can take out as much as a tot’s meal. To serve, I defrost thoroughly, warm and add milk before serving.

Leave a Reply

