Kecap manis – vegie fried rice

I like new ingredients especially vegetarian. Recently when looking for new recipes for toddlers, I came across Aussie website Fresh for kids which has lots of tasty recipes (not all vegie either!)

The very vegie stir fried rice caught my eye, firstly because it is not in fact vegie since it includes ham, but secondly because it included something new to me: Kecap manis. This is indonesian soy sauce. This gave me an excuse to go to the local Thai supermarket for the first time. A whole new world. The soy sauce was available in small bottles and very cheap.

I decided to ignore the recipe and do my own.

All vegetable ingredients chopped very finely

2 cups basmati rice. Ideally works with cold rice. But I cooked mine about half an hour beforehand and let them all cool out on a large plate.

2tbs groundnut oil

2 tsp cumin seeds

1 medium red onion

1tsp grated ginger

1/2 red pepper

1/2 green pepper

10 frozen green beans

1 cup sweetcorn

1tsp turmeric

1tsp kecap manis (more added later to taste)

1/4 tsp salt

2tsp sugar

1/2 tbs lemon juice

  • Heat oil in heavy based large frying pan
  • Add the cumin seeds and let them sizzle
  • Add the onion and let cook until browning at edges and beginning to carmelise
  • Add all the veg, turmeric and salt. Let mix cook for 5 minutes stirring often to prevent sticking
  • Add the kecap manis. As this is a new ingredient for me, I erred on side of caution with the amount.
  • When the veg are cooked, slowly fold in the rice (no need to be gentle if rice is cooked and cold)
  • Stir in sugar and mix very well.
  • To finish off, stir in lemon juice.

I ended up adding more kecap manis once I had combined the rice as I didn’t think there was enough there.

This is a very mild recipe suitable for tot (ignore that it has salt and sugar!). My husband and I ate it with a healthy dash of salt on top. We had it with chopped up sausages (mine vegie, his pork ones).

Leave a Reply

