Tips: Ginger

Here are some tips on how to buy and store ginger. Fresh ginger lasts for a couple of weeks in the fridge but I find that it tends to dry out quite quickly so I prefer to freeze it.

Look for ginger that is not dried out – the best way to check is to snap a piece off. It should break cleanly and the centre should not be too fibrous. Fresh ginger is very wet too when snapped.

I store ginger in the freezer. To do this, peel the skin off. I know that some TV chefs say you don’t need to peel it, and that’s up to you but personally I prefer peeled. The skin comes off quite easily either by scraping it with a knife or even a spoon. I think grate it up to the fibrous core which I discard.

For convenience, I put the ginger into ice-cube trays. Once frozen, I take the cubes of ginger out and store in a freezer bag. I confess I’ve used frozen ginger months after storing it. I have an ice cube tray where each cube is the equivalent of a teaspoon of grated ginger.

When I need it in a recipe, I just take a cube out and pop it into the dish – it thaws when cooking very quickly.

Leave a Reply

