Kitchenalia and books

It’s a dangerous thing internet shopping. Too easy to look around and way too easy to enter your details and spend spend spend. Luckily, I don’t have a lot of dosh so spending is limited. That is until I discovered the “vintage kitchenlia” category on Ebay. In truth, I’m trying to get hold of equipment my mum used to use. Stuff from the 60’s which I’m surprised to see labelled vintage. Anyway one thing leads to another and I have bought some cookbooks on the cheap. I’ve given Amazon links below but some of the books are much cheaper on Ebay. None of the books are purely vegetarian.

Indian superfood by Gurpareet Bains – a nice glossy book which tries to show how good some Asian ingredients are. I’m a bit surprised that he hasn’t included okra and kerala which are both known for health giving properties. However, there are some intriguing recipes – I need to figure out how to make the chocolate and chicken curry into a vegetarian dish.

The Curry Secret by Kris Dhillon – How to cook real Indian restaurant meals at home. Most of the restaurants in the UK are Bengali rather than Indian. There are of course restaurants for other areas of Indian including Gujarati, Punjabi and South Indian restaurants but your bog standard curry house is usually Bengali. In our house we never use terms such as madras, dopiaza, vindaloo etc. It’s one of the reasons I like eating in curry houses as the taste is very different from what I cook. However, if you eat out often you might suspect that the sauce is all the same. And reading this book you would be partly right – there is a base Curry sauce which the cook then adds to. I guess this is similar to my vagar which often consists of onion, garlic, ginger and chili base. I’m going to try out the base sauce from the book as soon as I figure out what green ginger is. Also again, many of the dishes here are meaty ones….who knows maybe hubby will pick it up and cook for himself!

Indian Regional Cooking by Sumana Ray – a bit of a happy mistake this one. I had a Sumana Ray book which was lost as part of a horrendous house move. I mourned the loss of that book as I referred to it often as it showed how to make so many foods easily. I thought I was ordering a replacement for that book but what arrived was not the same. The book I got includes meat and fish recipes but on looking through many of the recipes (and indeed the photos) from my old one are there. So this is the old book plus more. I love the sidebars which show step by step how to make things which helpful text and photos. There are loads that I want to try from this book so look out for future recipe reviews.

 

Leave a Reply

