Home made paneer (curds and whey)

That little Miss Muffet knew a thing or two having a bowl of curds and whey. But if I was her, I’d have discarded the whey and just made use of the yummy curds. Curds are what Indian people called paneer and is used for both savoury and sweet dishes. It’s been years since I made my own paneer which is a sign of pure and utter laziness as it’s so very simple to make*.

I had a surplus of semi-skimmed milk (thanks to an online shop I had forgotten about and had added a huge amount of milk to!). With a bag of fresh baby spinach in the fridge, I wanted to make saag paneer.

Ingredients:

  • 6 pints semi-skimmed milk
  • 1-2 tablespoons white vinegar or fresh lemon juice

Cooking

  • Put the milk into a heavy based pan and bring to the boil. Keep stirring to ensure the milk does not stick or burn as this will ruin the taste of the paneer
  • It had boiled when the surface of the milk makes a mound
  • Take the pan off the heat
  • Add the vinegar or lemon juice a little at a time until the milk separates. (I ended up using almost a whole unwaxed lemon – turns out fresh lemon is not as acidic. So if you have an older lemon, or are using vinegar then you won’t need too much)
  • The separation is pretty obvious so if the whey still looks milk, keep going with the vinegar/juice
  • The next stage involves removing the curds from the whey – put a muslin or J-cloth over a large bowl then pour the mixture in to strain the whey out. Bring the edges of the cloth together and squeeze. Now put a weight on and leave for an hour or more to squeeze even more liquid out.

This recipe yielded 262g of paneer from 6 pints of milk. I believe that full fat milk would produce more curds.  I’d probably left the weighing a bit long as the paneer was hard. It can also happen if you use lemon juice rather than vinegar. I would not squeeze as much to use the paneer to make a dessert (like rasmalia….oooooh RASMALAI).

I cut the paneer into cubes and fried in a shallow pan a little bit before added to my saag paneer. All in all, a very easy ingredient to use.

Milk in pan  DSC01784 DSC01785 IMG_0346

*My most distinct memory of making paneer was when we lived temporarily in East Barnet. Mum was ill  and would only live for a few months more. We lived in a maisonette with the most racist man living above us who regularly slashed our car tyres – doubly painful when we had to rush mum to hospital appointments. That day was lovely and sunny. I used the home made paneer to make a delicious rasmalai. Years on, now in my frozen Scottish kitchen I’m making paneer again, still thinking of Mum but very happy that with my daughter and husband I’ll do not have to deal with slashed tyres. Happy days.

3 thoughts on “Home made paneer (curds and whey)

  1. I love paneer but have never ventured into the cooking it/making it myself. Now’s the time. You reckon I should learn to cook it properly first (as in buy it readymade) before I try to make it myself?

    • Personally I prefer the home made stuff but will use the ready made when I am in a hurry but craving saag paneer. You may just find the ready made is a bit more solid than the home made versions. Also, if you make a batch at home, you can use half for a shak (curry) then the rest of ras malai (dessert!).

Leave a Reply

