Crochet update

I’m a rubbish blogger. Posts get written in my head that rarely make it to the screen. So a lot of this is old but as this is actually a journal for me, and not about you, that’s fine!

There have been a bundle of babies born to friends and colleagues this year. As such, I’ve picked up my hook and made a blanket or two. And yes, I made blue for a boy and pink for a girl. In my defence, I don’t have a lot of dosh so pick what’s on sale in Jenners.

IMG_1642

IMG_1641 IMG_1640 IMG_1662 IMG_1661

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then in July I went along to the Knit Works  exhibition and workshops at the National Museum of Scotland. I missed the first day as I didn’t know it was on – we were just checking the site to take the kiddo into town for the street festival. Anyhoooo, It was a boiling hot day and I welcomed the cool interior of the museum. I had booked to join the Crochet workshop with Arne and Carlos so only had a little time to look around the display – I have a sneaky suspicion I missed a load. 

These are displays by the designer Steiunn, Brora and another designer who’s name I didn’t write down but did some great hip-hop clothes pieces. 

The workshop was not what I expected. I thought we would be taught step by step how to do a flower. Instead, they handed out yarn, hooks and a handout of the pattern and just told us to get on with it. Both Arne and Carlos were on hand to help but as there were quite a few beginners in the room, they couldn’t help everyone. I tried to help a few around them but sadly think I may have confused them as I wasn’t sure whether the pattern was in UK or US terms. Arne and Carlos will be back next year for Edinburgh Yarn Festival and I will try to book again for a workshop as I like them and their designs. Still odd to me that here are two men talking to a room full of women about yarn craft. 

After, I tried to join the knitathon. I was told to pick whatever wool I wanted and to choose a pattern to do. So sat down happily and tried to chat. Ok, this may be because I was hot, or it may just be that knitters can be really unfriendly bitches sometimes. What a cold front trying to talk to some of them and a really shock after chatting to the friendly crocheters. Turns out that I was actually too late to make a square and so I sadly left. I may be a loud mouth but actually find it very very hard to walk up to a group of strangers to talk – so when they are not quite welcoming, I take it really badly. Grrrrr. 

IMG_1727 IMG_1728 IMG_1729 IMG_1730 IMG_1731 IMG_1732 IMG_1733 IMG_1735 IMG_1736 IMG_1737 IMG_1738 IMG_1739 IMG_1740 IMG_1741

Leave a Reply

